"where" have you met alexander and why do you love him

This moderated forum is for discussion of Alexander the Great. Inappropriate posts will be deleted without warning. Examples of inappropriate posts are:
* The Greek/Macedonian debate
* Blatant requests for pre-written assignments by lazy students - we don't mind the subtle ones ;-)
* Foul or inappropriate language

Moderator: pothos moderators

ariadne

"where" have you met alexander and why do you love him

Post by ariadne »

The questions are in the title.
Please forgive my bad english...
I have posted the same questions many years ago in this forum but i think there are lot's of new people now, so I ask them a second time.

Personnaly I've been interested on greek civilisation since my childhood and fascinated by ATG since the age of 14. I studied history and ancient Greece on college, but I did't took ATG for my final work, because it was a bit to passional in my mind for serious work...

Now I'm an adult, have a family life and don't work as a scholar, but time to time I come back to ATG figure, I read some books on him and he's on my thoughts. I'm afraid it's a fantasy...

If I'd work on psychology or sociology I'd make a study on people passionated by ATG, why and how ? S. Freud I think wrote about him in one of his books, if I remember he said that his own father was called Philip (like my own, by the way ! ), and as a child he indentified his familial situation with the oedipian triangle between ATG and his parents....
Maybe someone here knows more than me concernign Freur and ATG, it would be interesting to have a response...

Glad to see this forum is still active !

Ariadne
jan
Strategos (general)

Re: "where" have you met alexander and why do you love him

Post by jan »