Memnon

Discuss Alexander's generals, wives, lovers, family and enemies

Moderator: pothos moderators

Manjinder Singh

Memnon

Post by Manjinder Singh »

30 Nov 2003TO: Mr. V.M. ManfrediDear Sir,The subject on Memnon. In the Sands of Ammon - Memnon seems to pose an overwhelming threat to Alexander and his army. I studied Alexander the Great in the University of Calgary under the tutelage of Professor Waldemar Heckel and are findings were that in reality Memnon was overated as a Commander posing threats to Alexander. In fact the only critical period in Alexander's period of conquest was the time in Sogdiana - present day Afghanistan. Alexander's resources and army faced a myriad of obstacles and difficulties. The solution was a marriage between Afghan women and the Macedonians. Alexander married Roxane - a daughter of an Afghan baron. The next major fight and perhaps the most formidable of opponents was King Poros of Punjab. Poros was a King like Darius. He was only a Chieftain between the rivers in the Punjab - Land of Five Rivers. Poros unlike cowardly Darius was courageous and noble.
nick
Somatophylax

Re: Memnon

Post by nick »

Hi mr. Singh -Though I agree with your analysis in general, I think the popular view of Darius as a coward needs to be reconsidered. Diodorus offers us a description of Darius which is very different from that of Arrian. In the end, Darius did not act as a coward, but just according to the rules of his culture and Persian kingship. The fact that in 330 BC he wanted to battle Alexander again (but Bessus et al. prevented that) says a lot. Still, I won't debate that Poros proved a much more serious opponent than Darius ever did.Regards -
Nick
Nicator
Hetairos (companion)

Post by Nicator »