Teacher Seeks Help

This moderated forum is for discussion of Alexander the Great. Inappropriate posts will be deleted without warning. Examples of inappropriate posts are:
* The Greek/Macedonian debate
* Blatant requests for pre-written assignments by lazy students - we don't mind the subtle ones ;-)
* Foul or inappropriate language

Moderator: pothos moderators

Vermillion Phoenix

Teacher Seeks Help

Post by Vermillion Phoenix »

Could I please ask for help from your online community? I'm a middle school teacher who is developing a curriculum unit that poses the essential question "Why was Alexander 'Great'?" I am looking for the best resources for 6th and 7th grade students (USA) who are 11 or 12 years old. With the volume of books and websites available, I'm at a loss to know what sources are "readable", present a balanced view, but won't get me into hot water with some parents. (i.e. don't focus on his sexuality and/or detail explicit violence). In this day and age, I can't shield them from much, but I don't want to actively promote sources that would startle anyone.
It is remarkable that when viewing any map of Alexander's Empire for the first time, my students gasp out loud at the very idea of Alexander. Therefore I want to give them the opportunity to learn more on their own about his legend, his campaigns, and especially the impact of his empire in the centuries that followed. All of my students have full access to the internet for research, but my students are still reading books!
I would be grateful for suggested "best" sources that are reputable and appropriate.
Thank you so much.
Kay
marcus
Somatophylax

Re: Teacher Seeks Help

Post by marcus »